Lok Sabha election 2014: What You Need to Know

As the World’s largest democracy goes into voting this April I thought of putting together a quick list of what you need to know to not just vote but vote responsibly.

The Lok Sabha elections have started on Monday and India will vote to select its next government and a new Prime Minister. Below is a schedule of the polling dates to look out for and bookmark to participate in the voting process.


The following is the Lok Sabha election schedule in all states and Union territories

April 7: Assam (5), Tripura (1)

April 9: Arunachal Pradesh (2), Manipur (1), Meghalaya (2), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1)

April 10: Bihar (6), Chhattisgarh (1), Haryana (10), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Jharkhand (5), Kerala (20), Madhya Pradesh (9), Odisha (10), Uttar Pradesh (10), Andaman and Nicobar (1), Chandigarh (1), Lakshadweep (1), Delhi (7), Maharasthra (19)

April 12: Sikkim (1), Tripura (1), Assam (3). Goa (2)

April 17: Bihar (7), Chhattisgarh (3), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Jharkhand (5), Karnataka (28), Madhya Pradesh (10), Maharashtra (19), Manipur (1), Odisha (11), Rajasthan (20), Uttar Pradesh (11), West Bengal (4)

April 24: Assam (6), Bihar (7), Chhattisgarh (7), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Jharkhand (4), Madhya Pradesh (10), Maharashtra (19), Rajasthan (5), Tamil Nadu (39), Uttar Pradesh (12), West Bengal (6), Puducherry (1)

April 30: Andhra Pradesh (17), Bihar (7), Gujarat (26), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Punjab (13), Uttar Pradesh (14), West Bengal (9), Dadra and Nagar Haveli (1), Daman and Diu (1)

May 7: Andhra Pradesh (25), Bihar (7), Jammu and Kashmir (2), Uttar Pradesh (15), Uttarakhand (5), West Bengal (6), Himachal Pradesh (4)

May 12: Bihar (6), Uttar Pradesh (18), West Bengal (17)

The result of this election will be declared on 16 May, before the 15th Lok Sabha completes its constitutional mandate on 31 May 2014.


With everybody having opinions about politics and politicians, TVF team decided to ask the youth of India…Simple questions to test their political awareness.

Citizens can now easily access complete information on criminal records, assets, liabilities and educational qualifications of their contesting candidates along with the elected ones through a SMS by specifying their constituency name or the pin code of their location.

  • During elections in particular state, voters of that state will get information on criminal, financial and educational qualifications of the contesting candidates.
  • During non-election period, citizens will be able to access complete background information of sitting MP and MLA of their area.

Getting information using SMS

Option 1:- SMS MYNETA <constituency name> to 9246556070 or 56070

Option 2:- SMS MYNETA <pincode> to 9246556070 or 56070

Toll Free Helpline

  • Toll-free No.: 1-800-110-440
  • Day/Hours of operation: Mon-Fri (10am – 6pm)
  • Information given: Criminal records, Assets, Liabilities and Education Qualifications.
  • Source of Information: Candidate information given in affidavits.
  • Initially the information based on earlier affidavits only will be provided. New information based on current affidavits will also be provided as and when it becomes available (usually about 7-8 days before the election dates).

For more info regarding the SMS service log on to www.myneta.info

How I Met Your Neta